Trophic Levels in the Grassland
Type of Organism at Trophic Levels Examples of Organisms in the Grassland Examples of Organisms in the Savanna
Fourth Trophic Level
Tertiary Consumers: Secondary consumers, Parasites of Carnivores Burrowing Owl Lions
Third Trophic Level
Secondary Consumers: Primary Carnivores Badgers, Black-footed ferret Lions, Leopard, Cheetah, Hyenas
Second Trophic Level
Primary Consumers: Herbivores, Decomposers, Detritivores Bison, Gophers, Grasshopper Mouse Giraffe, Wildebeest, Zebra, Rhino, African Elephant, Antelopes
First Trophic Level

Primary Producers: Photoautotrophs, Chemoautotrophs

Trees, Grass, Forbs Trees, Grass, Forbs


The above image displays a simple food web of the African Savanna. At the bottom, there are the primary consumers: the wildebeest, giraffe, and grasshoper. They feed only on grass and plants that gather energy from the sun. The next level of animals are the primary carnivores that essentially eat the primary consumers. These animals are the cape hunting dogs, hyenas, baboons, and meerkats. The secondary carnivores then are the cheetahs, hyenas, cape hunting dogs, and lions. The hyenas and cape hunting dogs are in both the group of secondary carnivores and primary carnivores because they both may feed on baboons. Finally, the lions can be grouped into a group a step higher than those animals (tertiary carnivores) because they may hunt the cape hunting dogs. Some animals are hunted by few animals like giraffes because of advantageous traits such as long distance vision.